Monday, February 27, 2012

21 Inducted Into Honor Society

FOR RELEASE: Feb. 27, 2012
Twenty-one students of the University of New Mexico-Gallup were inducted into the Beta Tau Psi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society on Friday, Feb. 24, in the Student Services and Technology Center.

Advisor Dougherty Tsalabutie welcomed the members and their families. The prospective members processed into the large smart classroom and sat at the front of the room while their names were announced and while each went up individually to sign the book noting their official induction. Executive Director Sylvia Andrew and Director of Student Services Zeke Garcia congratulated the students on their membership in the honor society. The students and their families were honored with a reception following the ceremony.

Tsalabutie says that the group will meet soon to decide what sort of events they will sponsor on the campus.

The inductees were: Jonathan Arthur, Sharon Brown, Britney Coonsis, Brian Curley, Gabriel Davis, Arlinda Fatty, El-Dino Henio, Adam Lee, Mercedes Lopez, Michael Madrid, Natalia Pete, Adrian Pioche, Tiffany Shetima, Judith Slade, Thomarita Stewart and Ardell Watchman.

Officers are Tracylyn Yellowhair, president; Marcus Yazzie, vice president; Tabitha Halloc, treasurer; Winterdawn Billie, secretary; and Lacee Romero, public relations secretary.                

No comments:

Post a Comment