Monday, December 12, 2016

UNM-Gallup received donation for scholarships honoring former Professor

Gwen Wilson, executor of the estate of Dr. Ralph Casebolt, recently presented UNM-Gallup with a
check for $50,000 to be used for student scholarships.  Dr. Casebolt, born in 1933 in New Bremen, Ohio, taught at UNM-Gallup from 1974 until the day before his death on January 16, 2015.  Casebolt received his BA from Heidelberg College and his Bachelor of Divinity degree from the University of Chicago.  He then went to South Vietnam and served several years as a volunteer with Church World Service.  Upon his return to the United States in 1969, he attended Northern Colorado University and received his doctoral degree in Education at which time he began working and teaching for the Pueblo of Zuni, New Mexico.  Dr. Casebolt started his career at UNM-Gallup as an adjunct faculty member and became a fulltime faculty member in 1984.  Ralph, as he preferred to be called, was always humble, discreet and private about his academic achievements.  He had a passion for teaching, had many academic interests and had a strong affinity for scholarly research in mythology, philosophy and psychology.  When not in the classroom, he enjoyed hiking, canoeing and camping.

Wilson noted, “I feel very strongly that this is something Ralph would have wanted.  He was so committed to UNM-Gallup and the Native American student population.  He understood the challenges of the students including childcare, transportation, cost of books and other barriers to their education.”

The Ralph Casebolt Scholarship Fund will provide five awards per year in the amount of $1,000/semester.  Recipients will apply through the UNM-Gallup Financial Aid Office and meet academic criteria as determined by the donor.  See attached picture of Gwen Wilson presenting a check for $50,000 to Professor Ken Roberts, Dean of Instruction, and Jayme McMahon, Director of Student Affairs.

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Happy Thanksgiving!

Gratitude can transform common days into thanksgivings, turn routine jobs into joy, and change ordinary opportunities into blessings.
                     - William Arthur Ward

Before we all dash off to bountiful dinners, family get togethers and more football games than we ever thought possible, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your dedication to UNM-Gallup.  Your excellence drives our success and we would not be where we are today without the contributions of each and every one of you. 

We are grateful to our faculty and staff for your dedication to the success of our institution.  We thank our students for your motivation and for choosing UNM-Gallup for your education.  This Thanksgiving, let us all be especially thankful for the gifts we all share and embrace a spirit of appreciation for our families, friends, and colleagues.  Let us realize the powerful impact education can have on lives and be thankful for the opportunities we have within UNM-Gallup, within our community and within our country.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Dr. Christopher Dyer     
Chief Executive Officer
Rick Goshorn                         
Chief Financial Officer

Professor Ken Roberts        
Dean of Instruction

Jayme McMahon 
Director, Student Affairs            

Tuesday, November 1, 2016

Chief Executive Officer Awards

By Marilee Petranovich
Marketing and Communication Officer

Congratulations to faculty members who were recently recognized by Dr. Christopher Dyer and presented with 2016 Chief Executive Officer Faculty awards.   On Thursday, October 27th in the CEO’s Conference Room, Dr. Dyer honored 5 UNM-Gallup faculty members with his annual awards and presented each with a personalized glass sculpture to thank them for the work they have done throughout the year.  Dr. Dyer noted, “None of us is above anyone.   We are all a team and I have a great deal of respect for your work.  I come from your ranks with 30 years of experience as a faculty member.  I appreciate the art of teaching and know how important it is to the fabric of the campus.”  The following faculty members were presented with designations from Dr. Dyer.  All quotes are from Dr. Dyer as he presented the awards:

Chris Chavez, Lecturer II, Construction Technology – CEO’s Award for Professional Development.  “Chris clearly enjoys his work and is such an asset to our campus.”

Dr. Shirley Heying, Assistant Professor, Anthropology – Teresa Wilkins Award for Faculty Excellence“Shirley really pops in the classroom!”

Laura Jijon – CEO’s Award for College Service.  “Laura is super creative and brilliant and recognizes that the key in an educational environment is relationship-building.”

Thomas Kaus, Associate Professor, Math – CEO’s Award for Community Service.  “The work Tom has done with children and math is exceedingly outstanding and is noted by the community.”
(Unable to attend the ceremony)

Dr. Stephen Buggie, Professor, Psychology – CEO’s Award for Teaching.  “Dr. Buggie is one of the unsung heroes on our campus.”

More photos from the award ceremony may be viewed at the link below: